Young fundraiser Charlotte takes sponsored walk to help people in need

Here’s a little story from Middlesbrough diocese to warm your heart…

Young Charlotte, from Our Lady of Lourdes Parish in Hessle, recently made multiple crossings of the Humber Bridge to raise a wonderful £251.00 for CAFOD. Charlotte, aged 10 years, took part in this years annual Christian Aid and CAFOD Humber Bridge Cross in May ‘to help the people who do  not have any food or drink’.

Charlotte said, “Thank you very much for the letter and certificate. I have left the certificate in our church porch, so all the generous people who sponsored me can see how much they helped me raise. I have sent a picture of me outside Our Lady of Lourdes, Hessle”.  Asked why she had taken part in the walk she said,

“I thought it would be a good idea to take part in the Humber Bridge Sponsored Walk for CAFOD because I felt sorry for those people that have no food or drink. The children that were on the photo that is now on my certificate were my age, (and some even younger!) Also, I didn’t like the fact that they were working, instead of going to school (that isn’t fair!) I hope the small amount of money that I raised will make a little difference”.

Out of the mouths of babes – comes wisdom and understanding far beyond their years! Well done and thank you Charlotte!

Leave a Reply

