The Road to Rio

Hi there,

My name is Nick Webster and I’ve been very fortunate in that I’ve been given the amazing opportunity to go to World Youth Day in Rio de Janeiro with CAFOD. Before WYD begins the trip also includes working with CAFOD partners in São Paulo. It promises to be a life changing experience. However before we go to Rio, there is a long road before us that includes a pretty scary amount of fundraising, learning Portuguese (as well as my appalling language skills will allow me to), various preparation and security meetings and getting to know the strangers that I will be spending three of the most intense weeks of my life with – all within the course of just over eight months.

I am writing on this blog to keep CAFOD supporters informed about the preparation for Brazil, the experience of Rio itself and how the experience will inform where I go from here when I get back. It promises to be an interesting journey and I hope you enjoy reading through all the ups and downs.

Nick

Leave a Reply

