Luke’s Racing, But The World’s Poor Are The Real Winners

Last weekend I took part in my first road race for Team CAFOD, the Yorkshire Coast 10k at Scarborough. As I arrived at the Spa the weather in Scarborough was looking good if a bit windy. This being my first race the build-up was full of nerves and excitement. I had spent the last 8 weeks in training since signing up to do the 10k run in September. During my training I gradually increased the distance which I was running starting by only running short distances before taking on the full 10km.

And then it was time for the big moment the Mayor and Mayoress of Scarborough fired the gun to start the race as the band played “Eye of the Tiger.” Throughout the course of my training the 1st kilometre had always been the one I hated the most and on race day this was no exception. I made the mistake of starting too quickly and was already feeling the strain. Seeing so many people overtake me early doors was also quite disheartening.

However as the race went on I got more into it and started overtaking people myself (admittedly most of the time they re-overtook me seconds later). The course itself was highly scenic with beautiful sea views alongside almost the entire course. Notable sites along the way included Scarborough Castle, Peasholm Park Miniature Railway, the open air theatre and Freddie Gilroy, a giant statue who sits on a bench at the North Bay.

In the end I was disappointed to finish the race in 45:48 as I had been aiming for a time of 40:00. Two factors meant that I failed to meet my target. Firstly there were strong winds which slowed the race down, this year’s winning time was a full 1 minute and 50 seconds slower than last year’s. Secondly I had made the mistake of not bringing a timing device to the race meaning that in terms of time I was making I was effectively running blind. Although I did not make my targets I still enjoyed the competitive element to the race i.e. trying to overtake people and preventing others from overtaking me.

I finished 210 out of 1278 which means that 83% of the runners finished behind me, which I am counting as a victory for Team CAFOD! For the record the race was won for the third year in a row by Andrew Willes who beat Ethopian Paralympic silver medallist Wondiye Fikre Indeldu in a sprint finish. The winning female was Stephanie Burns, and the winning juniors were Daniel Leng and Nicole Dawson.
Away from the fun aspects of the race there was also the serious side of race in that I am as the back of my vest says “running against poverty” as my running is helping CAFOD’s vital work in over 40 countries around the world. CAFOD works to protect lives during emergencies and to bring about long-term development. So far I have raised £217.50 including gift aid. This is enough to purchase 4 bicycles for health workers in Zambia or 72 schools kits for children in Mozambique or 161 plates of food for malnourished children in El Salvador. Thank you to all who have donated for their generosity. Donations can still be made at: http://www.justgiving.com/Luke-Moore.
As I found this run an enjoyable experience I intend to run many more 10ks for CAFOD next year and possibly the Leeds Half Marathon and Great North Run. Finally, I would like to thank all the race Marshalls and those who came out to support the runners on Sunday.

Great work by Luke, not only for finishing the race in such an impressive time, but for raising an equally impressive amount of money! We’re looking forward to supporting Luke in his future races and will keep you all informed as to his progress.

One thought on “Luke’s Racing, But The World’s Poor Are The Real Winners

Leave a Reply

