Scoring a Goal for Justice!

???????????????????????????????

We are delighted to update you that the 237 São Paulo families facing eviction before the World Cup, linked to us through Connect2 Brazil http://www.cafod.org.uk/Fundraise/Parish-fundraising/Connect2-sign-up/Connect2-Brazil, have won their campaign to make an abandoned hotel their permanent home and turn it into dignified flats! The city authorities have pushed through a purchase order to convert the abandoned hotel into social housing.

News of the victory was greeted with joy by the families. Community leader, Nete Araujo, was quick to thank the thousands of CAFOD supporters in England and Wales who stood by their campaign and to express hope that support for the community continues.

“ We want to see each of the families with a key to their homes in their hands… It is important that the support and solidarity of all of you continues. That you continue to help us as you have. Sometimes I have felt quite desperate, and then I stop and think I am not alone, and that is good. I want to thank all of you for this victory, for being together with us, for that connection with us, for this link and rope to transform itself into a big knot that never unties and continues for great victories.”

CAFOD has been active in Brazil since the 1960s. In São Paulo CAFOD’s partner the MDF has been working with residents from 40 favelas to improve the living conditions for thousands of families. Click on this link to find out about other ways CAFOD is supporting social fair play as Brazil celebrates the approach and action of the World Cup http://www.cafod.org.uk/News/UK-News/World-Cup-son

5 thoughts on “Scoring a Goal for Justice!

  1. Howdy I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was
    searching on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now
    and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post
    and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also
    included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot
    more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  2. I’ll right away grasp your rss feed as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.

    Do you have any? Kindly let me recognise in order that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.

    • Hello there and thanks for reading our blog posts.
      You can sign up for our hyperlink from our Facebook page, CAFOD Middlesbrough which is automatically updated whenever we post a new blog.
      I hope this is helpful.

Leave a Reply

