Volunteering with CAFOD – It’s been fascinating learning, says Luke

Luke Moore, ready to race against poverty

Luke Moore, ready to race against poverty

After 12 months my volunteering with CAFOD Middlesbrough is coming to an end. It has been fascinating learning about the CAFOD campaigns and the work of CAFOD in this diocese.

During my time volunteering in the office I have undertaken various activities such as event organisation, data entry, blogging and updating the activity log. One of the most important things which I have done is to help the diocese take steps to becoming a Fairtrade diocese, this will ensure that the diocese play its part in obtaining a fair living for farmers in the developing world.

Outside of the office I have also been acting as the CAFOD Parish Contact for Our Lady’s Church in York. In this role I have been helping to raise awareness in my parish of campaigns, events and fast days throughout the year. I have also had the great privilege of being involved in many CAFOD events. Antony Mbandi from Kenya gave an interesting talk about the impact of climate change on poverty and there was a thought provoking Advent service by the young people of St Aelred’s and St George’s parishes in York.

Perhaps the most memorable event was supporting team CAFOD at the first ever Yorkshire Marathon. We set-up our stall at the 23 mile mark watching the runners as they sought to complete the last few miles of race. Some were running, some were walking and others were walking but trying to pretend they were still running.

After watching the thousands of runners raising money for good causes, including 4 Team CAFOD members, I decided, perhaps somewhat foolishly, to sign up for this year’s marathon myself. My aims for the marathon are to complete it in less than 4 hours and be the first one over the line in a CAFOD vest. In order to achieve this I face stiff competition from the likes of Nick Webster and Fr Paul Dowling. This will be the second time I have run for Team CAFOD after completing the Yorkshire Coast 10K last October. If you wish donate to my marathon appeal please visit: https://www.justgiving.com/tlukemoore.

As I finish my time with CAFOD I would like to say a big thank-you to all the people I have worked with and who have helped me during my time at CAFOD particularly John, Carol and David. John was a big help in the early days and has inspired many with his barefoot running. Carol was always willing to answer questions about the CAFOD database and David has a great knowledge of all things CAFOD, although obviously as a Middlesbrough fan he doesn’t have a great knowledge about football!  I would also like to thank Fr Antony Lester O.Carm who first suggested I could look into volunteering with the CAFOD Office in York and Nan Saeki for all her support.

As for the future, I am going to study for a DPhil in Politics at St Cross College, University of Oxford. I hope to remain involved with CAFOD either in York or Oxford. I wish all the best for David and Carol and everyone else associated with CAFOD in this Diocese.

Inspired? If you would like to volunteer with CAFOD – get in touch – we’d love to hear from you!

 

Leave a Reply

