Luke Moore: My journey as a CAFOD volunteer

Luke  Moore, Yorkshire Half Marathon

Here I had just finished the Yorkshire Half Marathon for CAFOD

To celebrate National Volunteers Week, the Middlesbrough blog is being taken over today by 27 year old Luke Moore, a previous CAFOD office volunteer in York and now a PhD student and marathon runner. Here he tells us how his journey with CAFOD began.

“Hello everyone. I am Luke Moore, a PhD student at St Cross College, University of Oxford and this summer I am running 8 races in Yorkshire for CAFOD. Before coming to Oxford I volunteered with CAFOD for 2 years in York as an office volunteer. I was first attracted to CAFOD by their mission of alleviating poverty and bringing hope to communities all around the world. During my volunteering I met many inspirational people, such as John McBride who ran barefoot with the Olympic flame to raise awareness for those who could not afford shoes, and David and Carol Cross who showed great devotion to CAFOD. I attended many engaging events including helping at the CAFOD stall at the Yorkshire Marathon. This gave the encouragement I needed to do the marathon myself the next year. I raised £500 thanks, in large part, to the generosity of my fellow parishioners at Our Lady’s Church in York.

Luke Moore, Yorkshire Half Marathon 2

A marathon success

My running season started with a difficult opener at Sheffield for the Yorkshire Half-Marathon back in April. The unforgivably steep hills that day were extremely demanding for someone used to flatland. Unfortunately, my next race didn’t prove any easier as a sweltering day in Leeds turned the half-marathon into more of a survival exercise than a pursuit of personal bests. Over the next few months I have 10k races in Hull, Leeds, York, Wetherby and Scarborough. My biggest challenge comes in October when I enter my 2nd marathon.

Making time for training is often difficult with my research and teaching commitments here in Oxford but the opportunity to contribute to CAFOD’s vital mission makes the effort well worth it.

If you wish to donate to my appeal please visit: www.justgiving.com/yorkshiremoore.”

Interested in volunteering with CAFOD in Middlesbrough? Find out more

 

Leave a Reply

